It’s Been a While

Guess who’s back?

Rather than try to explain my absence, I’ll just say that the summer was MUCH busier than I had planned (a.k.a. interning at the State Attorney’s Office, working at Panera, taking an online class…)

I know it’s been more than two months since my last post, but don’t think for one second that I haven’t been taste-testing recipes and making new ones of my own. If anything, the much-needed break made me realize that I truly love blogging and sharing my creations with you.

I am leaving for my internship in Washington. D.C. Tuesday, and I know my life will probably be more hectic than this summer. I don’t want to make a promise I can’t keep, so I’m not going to say that I’ll post everyday. I think a more realistic goal would be to post once a week. After I move in, I’ll make a  D.C. routine and figure out where blogging fits in.

While I’m working all of this out, take a look at what I was up to this summer. Click the titles to find the instructions for making the recipe.

Cornmeal-Crusted Chicken Tenders with Mixed Berry Mustard Sauce via EatingWell

Amazingly Moist Banana Bread via allrecipes.com

I’m pretty sure I used this recipe, but to be honest, I don’t remember. I only remember that I added 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt to the batter and used applesauce instead of oil or butter. It was definitely a winner.

Easy, Creamy Veggie Marinara Sauce (recipe created by me)

This was another product of my Greek yogurt obsession. One jar of Marinara sauce + 1/2 cup Greek yogurt + 1 1/2 cup diced zucchini, peeper and onion = deliciousness. Simmer all ingredients in a pot over low heat for 10 minutes and use as a pasta sauce or a topping like I did for my whole-wheat English muffin minis.

Also, a little balsamic vinegar drizzle on top of the meat never hurts…

Overnight Oats in an Almost-Empty Peanut Butter Jar via Sweet Tooth, Sweet Life

I prepared my über-chocolately overnight oats recipe in the jar the night before and added one mashed banana to the mix in the morning.

The best part was scraping the sides and bottom of the jar for the one to two tablespoons of peanut butter that was left over (a.k.a. breakfast paradise on a hot summer morning).

Chocolate Omelet Breakfast Pancake via Powercakes

You’re just going to have to trust me on this one because it’s not the most photogenic meal. However, it tastes pretty darn good drizzled with honey and topped with dark chocolate chips and banana slices. I promise – it tastes more like pancakes than eggs.

Unfortunately, I didn’t take pictures of a lot of the recipes I tried this summer. However, I do have a twist on a all-American recipe involving elbow noodles, a cheesy sauce and broccoli coming up for the next post.

Can you guess what it is? ;)

P.S. Don’t forget to check out my updated Pinterest boards! I categorized my recipes because the “Recipes I Want to Try” board filled up way too fast.

See you soon,

Brianna

6 thoughts on “It’s Been a While

    • Aww thanks! I’ve missed blogging, but I have been keeping up on everyone else’s posts. Keep up the good work, and I’m following you on Pinterest now too ;)

  1. Pingback: Friday’s Favorite Food Finds: Healthy Homemade Bread « Hungry Gator Gal

  2. Pingback: Protein-Packed Overnight Oats in a Jar (OOIAJ) « Hungry Gator Gal

  3. Pingback: Peanut Butter Banana French Toast « Hungry Gator Gal

  4. Pingback: Easy, Cheesy Whole-Wheat Drop Biscuits « Hungry Gator Gal

Leave a Reply

