Home Sweet Home

Home sweet home . . . sort of.

I often joke that I don’t have a home these days because I’ve lived in three different places this year alone: my hometown, Gainesville and Washington, D.C.

Despite my nomad tendencies, I couldn’t be happier to be back at my “home-for-now” apartment in the district after a rough few days of dealing with a family emergency. I enjoyed spending time my relatives and seeing the gorgeous fall foliage, but I hate living out of a suitcase.

Despite my absence and a crazy schedule (I was going to bed around 3:30 a.m. and waking up at 1 p.m.!), I did manage to snap some pictures of two meals I prepared. Since Sundays are usually reserved for (Almost) Grownup Lunchbox posts, I’ll start with my train fuel.

Revamped Classic Lunchbox

A peanut butter and jelly sandwich on one slice of Arnold’s Healthy Multigrain bread, which I upgraded with:

  • Two tablespoons Whole Foods 365 everyday brand natural chunky peanut butter
  • One tablespoon Smucker’s Orchard’s Finest strawberry preserves
  • Raisins
  • Dash of cinnamon

I paired the sandwich with a red delicious apple; one square Ghirardelli Twilight Delight chocolate; baby carrots; green pepper slices; and two tablespoons Sabra Classic hummus.

Next up . . .

The Makeshift Omelet

I’ve become the omelet-making queen in my family and whip up a few perfectly stuffed omelets when everyone’s too lazy to make dinner in my house. While I was away, I found that this protein-packed meal was perfect for a late-night/early morning shift at the hospital. I prepared it using:

  • Two large eggs
  • One tablespoon milk (fat-free, 2%, almond or whatever kind you prefer)
  • 1 heaping cup of chopped broccoli
  • 1 slice of Swiss cheese
  • Two ounces Boar’s Head Chipotle Chicken breast, cut into small slices
  • Two large tablespoons pico de gallo
  • Dash of ground black pepper

Steps:

  1. Whisk the eggs and milk together after setting the stove on medium heat.
  2. Spray the pan with non-stick cooking spray and pour in the eggs when the pan is heated.
  3. Add the broccoli, pepper and chicken, and flip the omelet when the underside is golden brown.
  4. Add the cheese to the middle of the mixture. Wait for the other side to brown and fold the eggs in half to form the omelet.
  5. Top with pico de gallo and eat!

P.S. My grandmother is still alive, but the doctors say she could live for a few more days or up to two weeks. Therefore, don’t be surprised if I disappear again in the near future. Thanks for your support, and have a happy Sunday. :)

Questions:

  1. Has any relative you were close with passed away recently?
  2. If so, what is your favorite memory of him/her?

Related Posts:

Smashed avocado, black bean and onion sandwich

Lunchbxox Twofer

WIAW #3 – A Long Day

2 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

  1. Hi Brianna!
    We met on the train recently. I hope everything is going well with you and your family. I just wanted to wish you good luck through the rest of college and everything.

    – Chandler

    P.S. your food looks REALLY good!

    • Hi Chandler,

      Thank you for your support, and everything is going well! It was good to meet you too, and I hope all is well at school. Junior year is tough, but I promise all the work will be worth it soon. If you ever need advice about high school, applying for college, or just someone to talk to, write me an email at bkkolota@yahoo.com. I’ve been in your shoes, and I hope I can offer some useful insight.

      Best,
      Brianna

Leave a Reply

