Presidential Muffins

I must say that I am quite excited to be back in the saddle with cooking, baking and blogging. My life has been anything but normal, but blogging and my Hungry Gator Gal readers keep me sane.

I cannot express in words how important this one constant is to me now. I might elaborate later, but I don’t really want to discuss my problems here and now. Considering that New Jersey and New York residents are currently fighting a nor’easter after being pummeled by Sandy, I’m just thankful to be warm, dry, fed and in my apartment.

Anyway, on to the food . . .

I’m not going to lie – my creative food front has been basically non-existent for a week. However, Wednesday’s trip to the grocery store and some digging in my cabinet seemed to reinvigorate my inspiration.

So without further adieu, let’s end the workweek with a new recipe!

These muffins are healthy and easy peasy to make. It took me 30 minutes from start to finish, and now I have a dozen or so muffins in the freezer ready for on-the-go breakfasts. Each muffin clocks in at only 120 calories!

Healthy Pumpkin Pie Spice Muffins

I baked these muffins Wednesday night while I read the day’s edition of the Examiner. If I were to congratulate the re-elected Mr. President, these moist, dense puffs of pumpkin-infused dough would be my gift.

Thursday’s breakfast included one muffin heated in the microwave and patted with a smear of butter; one medium-sized banana; and one container of Harris Teeter banana cream nonfat yogurt.

Is a career as a White House chef in my cards? Probably not, but I’d be honored to cook or bake for any president, regardless of party affiliation.

Healthy Pumpkin Pie Spice Muffins

Makes: 12 muffins

Difficulty: none

Total time: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup Silk Unsweetened Vanilla Almondmilk
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • Two cups whole-wheat pastry flour
  • 1 large egg
  • Two teaspoons each of pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin (NOT pumpkin pie mix)

Steps:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Blend dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside.
  3. Blend wet ingredients in a separate bowl.
  4. Gradually stir the dry mix into the wet mix with a spoon until the flour is moist. The batter will be lumpy.
  5. Line the muffin pan or spray with cooking spray. Divide the batter among the cups.
  6. Bake the muffins for 18 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle of a muffin comes out clean.
  7. Immediately remove the muffins from the pan to prevent over-baking.
  8. Eat or store in a gallon-sized bag in the freezer for mornings. You can reheat the muffins in the microwave.

Questions:

  1. Have you been affected by Hurricane Sandy or the nor’easter?
  2. Did you vote Tuesday?

Related Posts:

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cupcakes with Cinnamon Glaze

Thursday Thoughts – Pumpkin

Whole-Wheat Pumpkin Blueberry Pancakes

4 thoughts on “Presidential Muffins

  1. Pingback: WIAW # 6 – Avocado Kick « Hungry Gator Gal

  2. Pingback: Dreaming of Holiday Sweets « Hungry Gator Gal

  3. Pingback: WIAW # 8 Georgetown – Take Two « Hungry Gator Gal

  4. Pingback: Whole-Wheat Peanut Butter and Jelly Muffins « Hungry Gator Gal

Leave a Reply

