WIAW # 6 – Avocado Kick

Do you ever have one of those days when you crave the same food all day? (Picture: Me raising my hand and waving it enthusiastically!)

I don’t know about you, but this generally happens when I’m deficient in a nutrient. For instance, if I crave peanut butter or nuts all day, I know my body needs fat. If I’m craving meat, especially beef, I know I probably haven’t eaten enough protein.

I try to incorporate protein, healthy fats, carbs, fruits and/or veggies into every meal to avoid ravenous cravings. However, sometimes I goof and forget one. Healthy fats didn’t find their way into my breakfast today, which I’m pretty sure set me up for this craving  . . .

Avocado!

Since I incorporated the fruit (no, it’s not a veggie) into lunch and dinner, this WIAW post is a bit repetitive. However, take it as an opportunity to learn how many ways you can eat the nutrient-packed superfood. I’m not going to preach about the health benefits of this powerhouse, so check out the articles at the bottom of this post if you want to learn more.

Breakfast – 7:25 a.m.

Cherry-mango homemade yogurt parfait bowl with a homemade pumpkin pie spice muffin from the freezer that I heated up for one minute in the microwave

I crumbled 1/4 of the muffin on top of my yogurt and ate the rest on the side when I realized the yogurt overpowered the pumpkin flavor. :(

Morning Snack – 11:45 a.m.

(pictured with lunch)

One serving of Blue Diamond’s Mint Dark Chocolate Oven-Roasted almonds

I was starved after hosting an event for 135 ninth graders for three hours, so this hit the spot!

Lunch – 1:30 p.m.

Smashed onion, chickpeas and avocado sandwich (similar to this sandwich and this salad) on one end slice of Arnold’s Healthy Multigrain bread, which was topped with mustard

I dipped both my baby carrots and the sandwich in my super simple sour cream salsa dressing and ate handful of raisins to round out the meal.

Dinner – 7:25 p.m.

Big ol’ bowl of avocado taco salad with Bolthouse Farms’ Thousand Island yogurt dressing

I used broccoli slaw instead of lettuce and melted white American cheese on top. This meal never disappoints.

By the end of the day, my avocado-filled meal left me pretty stuffed, so I didn’t have a bedtime snack, which is shocking if you know me. I wouldn’t be surprised if I wake up extra hungry because of my snackless night :)

Questions:

  1. What’s your favorite way to eat avocados? (Mine is in guacamole – hands down, no questions asked.)
  2. Do you ever have “deficiency cravings” like the ones I described in this post?

Interesting avocado articles:

Best Avocado Recipes - allrecipes.com

Secret Superfood : Avocados - Oprah.com

Superfoods for Flat Abs – Self.com

Five Minute Avocado Chocolate Pudding (It’s weird but I’m going to try the recipe soon!) – Kirbie’s Cravings – San Diego Food Blog

Leave a Reply

