Friday’s Favorite Food Finds: Healthy Homemade Bread

Gosh I love bread, and who doesn’t?

Now that I think about it, people with gluten allergies might hate it, but substitutes exist for the people unlucky enough to be denied the experience of eating a hot slice of toast with butter, an ooey gooey panini, or an awesome peanut butter and banana sandwich (a.k.a. my specialty).

If I had to choose a favorite aisle in the grocery store, the bread aisle might just win. The endless number of varieties, textures and flavors make me giddy. That’s how much I love bread.

Anyway, the point of my rambling is to say that store-bought bread can be pretty darn delicious, but homemade bread is 1,000 times better. The smell of it baking in the oven alone is enough to make me smile.

In addition to the smell and feeling like a 1950′s housewife, homemade bread can be a lot healthier than shelved versions. Have you ever looked at the ingredient list for some of those loaves? They’re ridiculously long and sometimes filled with ingredients you can’t pronounce!

I don’t know about you, but having control over what goes into my food is a big, if not the No. 1 reason I cook and bake. With that said, you MUST make this no-knead oatmeal toasting bread from alexandra’s kitchen. I had never made bread in my life, and using yeast intimidated me. However, this hearty loaf took much less time to make than traditional bread and is filled with 100% whole-wheat flour and oats.

Q: How can you resist a slice of this warm, homemade goodness?

A: You can’t, which is why I’ve eaten thick chunks of the loaf all week in every way possible.

Toast with butter and strawberry jam

Baked Cinnamon Apple French Toast with Peanut Butter (recipe coming soon!)

Now that I’ve made one loaf of homemade bread, I feel confident enough to keep on baking! Here are some other bread recipes that caught my eye:

Note: These recipes use some all-purpose flour, but I typically use only whole-wheat or whole-wheat pastry flour while baking.

Questions:

  1. Do you bake your own bread?
  2. What is your favorite homemade bread recipe?

Related Posts:

Amazingly Moist Banana Bread

“Pretty Sweet” Egg and Cheese Sandwich

Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Waffle Sandwich

2 thoughts on “Friday’s Favorite Food Finds: Healthy Homemade Bread

  1. Pingback: Baked Cinnamon Apple French Toast with Peanut Butter « Hungry Gator Gal

  2. Pingback: Easy, Cheesy Whole-Wheat Drop Biscuits « Hungry Gator Gal

Leave a Reply

