(Almost) Grownup Lunchbox Series: Goodbye D.C.

Friday marked my last day as a Washington, D.C. intern. :(

Although I’m excited to return home to Florida for the holidays, I can’t seem to pull myself away from the city and its charm. Every day I walk down through the streets trying to take it all in – the monuments, the metro, the chilly weather and just the energy in general.

Despite my impending departure Tuesday, I know that I will return to this place where even the little things seem important.

SAM_2087

Obviously I took this picture while it was warmer out!

Since I only visited the grocery store to buy the essentials last week, my mid-day meals were interesting. In fact, making lunch proved to be quite a challenge (a.k.a. how many ways can I reinvent ingredients X, Y, and Z).

In the end, I created some pretty thrifty meals and didn’t buy lunch from the cafeteria once! In addition to Wednesday’s lunch, I devised the following two meals for the workweek, both of which used pesto, peppers and garbanzo beans in different ways.

Italian Hardboiled Egg and Cheese Sandwich

SAM_2769

One slice of Arnold Honey Whole Wheat bread topped with one sliced, hardboiled egg; dash of pepper; about one teaspoon deli mustard; two tablespoons Classico Basil Pesto Sauce; and one slice Sargento Deli Sliced Provolone cheese.

Sliced green peppers with about two tablespoons Sabra’s Roasted Red Pepper hummus rounded out the meal. I almost forgot about my treat . . .

SAM_2773

One hunk of Newman’s Own Organics Super Dark Chocolate 70 percent cocoa

SAM_2775

A large, juicy red delicious apple that I snacked on before leaving work kept my stomach from grumbling during the daily commute home.

Pepper and Onion Pesto Melt

SAM_2782

SAM_2784

Note: I assembled the following sandwich and side items the night before. Once at work, I removed tha almonds and heated the entire container in the microwave for about 30 seconds. However, this lunch can also be enjoyed cold.

One slice of Arnold Honey Whole Wheat bread topped with sliced green peppers; onions; dashes of pepper and tomato garlic seasoning; about one teaspoon deli mustard; two tablespoons Classico Basil Pesto Sauce; and one slice Sargento Deli Sliced Provolone cheese.

One-fourth cup garbanzo beans; a handful of steamed, chopped broccoli florets with two heaping tablespoons homemade fire-roasted salsa; and one serving of Blue Diamond’s Oven Roasted Mint Dark Chocolate Almonds rounded out the meal.

SAM_2787

Another apple, which happened to be of the gala variety that day, kept me full until I arrived home from work. I’m so sad that apple season is almost finished and I’m being forced to return to Florida where grocery stores only sell the basic varieties. I  will miss you pink ladies and honeycrisps!

Questions:

  1. What grocery store essentials do you buy almost every week?
  2. What is your favorite variety of apples?

Related HGG Posts:

Italian Inspiration

Super Simple Sour Cream Salsa Dressing

Sweet Mediterranean Turkey Sandwich

Other Related Posts:

Leave a Reply

