Back in the cooking game

My journey into the land of frozen foods is officially over my friends. Oh yes… I’m back in the kitchen, and I’m ready to whip up some delicacies.

Since my last update, I have taken two criminology exams and stressed out over my first Spanish exam in eight months. In addition, I spent the entire weekend buried in research while developing my first public relations campaign for the University Press of Florida. With meetings, classes and tutoring, cooking was a low priority, but I did manage to pull out a few of my signature quick and easy meals. Everybody needs a homemade standby, and this is my favorite one.

Since it is almost Friday, I will share my signature T.G.I.F. meal – breakfast for dinner. Sadly, I love this concoction so much that I devour it almost every Friday while watching Project Runway All Stars (a.k.a. two guilty pleasures in one).

This meal is an inexpensive choice for on-the-go college students. However, anyone who wants to feel like a kid again will enjoy this treat.

Toasted Peanut Butter, Chocolate and Banana Sandwich with Raisins and Strawberry Jelly

This sandwich is heavenly for a number of reasons. Just look at the juicy raisins and gooey deliciousness of the melted chocolate, jelly and banana slices! Not to mention, it only takes about 10 minutes from start to finish.

Ingredients

– 2 slices of whole-wheat bread

– Dash of cinnamon

– 2 tablespoons of your favorite peanut butter (I use Smucker’s Natural Chunky)

– 1 piece of  high-quality chocolate (I prefer dark chocolate, so I use Ghirardelli’s 72% cacao Twilight Delight variety)

– A handful of raisins

– 1/2 of a medium-sized ripe banana for the sandwich (you can eat the other half on the side)

– 2 tablespoons of strawberry jelly (I use Smucker’s  squeezable reduced-sugar variety)

– Florida strawberries (They’re in season now, so be sure to eat some on the side!)

– Canola oil cooking spray

– Skillet and a spatula

Steps:

1. Spread two tablespoons of your favorite peanut butter on a slice of bread.

2. Sprinkle some cinnamon on top of the peanut butter.

3. Place the raisins on top of the peanut butter.

4. Cut the banana into one-inch slices and place the slices on top of the peanut butter and raisins.

5. Spread the jelly on top of the banana slices.

6. Break the piece of chocolate into small pieces and put on top of the bananas and jelly.

7. Put the other slice of bread on top and spray the skillet.

8. Turn the stove on medium heat, and toast each side of the sandwich until the bread is golden brown (about 4 minutes per side).

9. Cut the sandwich in half, and enjoy!

Variations

This simple pleasure is also delectable on pumpernickel bread. I know it sounds weird, but you have to trust me on this one. The pumpernickel is a little heartier in texture and holds up to the gooeyness of the ingredients. You can also add a drop of vanilla extract to the sandwich if you like a sweet, unexpected taste.

If dessert-like dinners don’t satisfy you, please don’t worry. A spicy, savory creation is in line for my next post.

Until next time,

Brianna

8 thoughts on “Back in the cooking game

  1. Breakfast for dinner is my favorite meal! I have never thought to add raisins to a peanut butter, jelly and banana sandwich before – let alone toast it! I will definitely be trying out this recipe in the near future. Thanks, Brianna! For the strawberry lovers out there, maybe you could try a variation using strawberry slices with the jelly. 🙂

  2. Pingback: lazy mom, hungry kids « kidsandwhatnots

    • Thanks for the pingback! I appreciate your comment, and I just wanted to let you know that I changed the name of the blog to “Hungry Gator Gal.” The new URL is hungrygatorgal.wordpress.com. Check it out if you get a chance 🙂

  3. Pingback: Breakfast of Champions | Hungry Gator Gal

  4. Pingback: Honey Teriyaki Stir-Fry Chicken | Hungry Gator Gal

  5. Pingback: “Pretty Sweet” Egg and Cheese Sandwich | Hungry Gator Gal

  6. Pingback: Spicy English Muffin Minis with a Salsa Veggie Scramble | Hungry Gator Gal

  7. Pingback: Friday’s Favorite Food Finds: Healthy Homemade Bread « Hungry Gator Gal

Leave a Reply

