Oops

Well folks, I had my first catastrophe in the kitchen. It wasn’t horrific, and nothing caught on fire, but let’s just say that I was disappointed with my avoidable mistake.

First, I should say that I finally received my University Press of Florida cookbooks – all eight of them. I spent the first 30 minutes of Tuesday’s workday salivating over the possibilities. However, I  only took four books home because I didn’t have room in my backpack for all of them.

After perusing the books, I flagged the recipes I am interested in making. First up – meatballs courtesy of The Columbia Restaurant Spanish Cookbook.

With a craving for red meat and my shopping list in hand, I went to Publix on Saturday to buy the missing ingredients. After navigating the crowded store and surviving a terribly loud and long bus ride, I arrived at home and began making the meatballs. Here’s a photo recap of the cooking process that should have resulted in perfectly plump balls of deliciousness.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As you can tell from the last picture, something obviously went wrong. After lightly frying the meatballs in the skillet, I added a jar of tomato and basil pasta sauce, carrot slices, onions, broccoli and green peppers. Unfortunately, the meatballs were not strong enough to hold up to the weight of the sauce and veggies. So, when I started stirring it all together, the meatballs fell apart, which resulted in a weird meat sauce.

Despite this setback, I let the mixture simmer for 20 minutes. Not wanting to give up on the recipe, I ended up eating the concoction by itself out of a bowl with a salad on the side. The sauce was really good, but I really wanted big, chunky meatballs, not a meat sauce.

In summary, I messed up, but what I created was edible.  However, I will try this recipe again, and I might bake the meatballs to make sure they can hold up to the sauce. I’ll keep you updated on the second try.

Unfortunately, I will now be reinventing this meal for the next three nights due to my stupid mistake. Oh, the perils of cooking for one…

Until next time,

Brianna

Leave a Reply

