My Weird Obsession

No, I am not a drug addict, smoker or alcoholic, but I must admit – I have a problem.

You definitely won’t see me on TLC’s My Strange Addiction, but I have no intention of breaking this habit.

What is this weird obsession? Well, I can tell you that it’s a food addiction (big surprise right?). I enjoy this recipe at least four nights a week. It’s not elaborate, and it’s not fancy. In fact, it’s quite simple and surprisingly healthy. Not to mention, it also happens to be my favorite meal of all time, which explains the addiction.

What is it you may ask?

OATMEAL!

OK. I know that was highly anticlimactic, but once you see the picture, you’ll run to the kitchen, or in my case, pretend to run across the small dorm room to make this sinfully healthy concoction.

If the recipe is so good, why did I hide it from you? Truthfully, I was saving it for March 1, which is National Peanut Butter Lover’s Day. As my friends and family members know, peanut butter is my favorite food, and I even had a story published about it in the Gainesville Sun Nov. 1. Read it at http://www.gainesville.com/article/20111101/ARTICLES/111109975.

But what does peanut butter have to do with oatmeal? You’re about to see.

Peanut Butter and Chocolate Oatmeal with Granny Smith Apple Chunks

Serves one person

Ingredients

  • 1  packet of instant oatmeal (my favorite is Quaker’s Lower Sugar Apples and Cinnamon)
  • 2/3 cup milk or water (milk makes it creamier)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cocoa powder (like Hershey’s)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 medium-sized apple
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons of peanut butter (again, my favorite is Smucker’s Natural variety)

Steps

  1. Cut the apple into bite-sized chunks and put them in a microwave-safe bowl. Heat in microwave for 45 seconds.
  2. Remove bowl from the microwave. Open oatmeal packet and dump contents over the apples. Then, add the cinnamon and cocoa powder.
  3. Add the milk and stir all ingredients together until well-blended. Microwave for 1 1/2 to 2 minutes. (For thicker oatmeal, microwave for the full 2 minutes. For thinner oatmeal, microwave for less time.)
  4. Remove from the microwave and add 1 to 2 tablespoons of peanut butter. Then, mix the peanut butter in until it is evenly distributed.
  5. Microwave for 45 seconds. After this, stir it and let it stand for 1 minute.
  6. EAT!

Even though this isn’t a novel recipe,  here’s a short list of the health benefits you receive from eating this:

  • 30 percent of your daily calcium (only 10 percent if you use water instead of milk)
  • 23 grams or more of whole grains
  • Peanut butter is a good source of protein, healthy fats and antioxidants
  • 1 serving of fruit
  • Cinnamon controls blood sugar levels and may lower LDL “bad” cholesterol, total cholesterol and triglycerides (fatty acids in the blood)

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do. Even though I eat it as a snack, you can have it any time of the day. It’s gooey, hot and fills your stomach. Not to mention, I swear that it knocks me out like Ambien or Vicks NyQuil almost every night. OK, it’s not that powerful, but you get the point.

Until next time,

Brianna

7 thoughts on “My Weird Obsession

  1. Pingback: Must-have healthy food items | Hungry Gator Gal

  2. Pingback: Breakfast of Champions | Hungry Gator Gal

  3. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW) #2 « Hungry Gator Gal

  4. Pingback: WIAW #4 – Something’s Not Right « Hungry Gator Gal

  5. Pingback: WIAW # 6 – Avocado Kick « Hungry Gator Gal

  6. Pingback: For Newtown: Apple Cider Crisp « Hungry Gator Gal

  7. Pingback: WIAW #9: Pretty Eggtastic « Hungry Gator Gal

Leave a Reply

