Whole-Wheat Blueberry Waffles

Fridays during Lent are officially breakfast-for-dinner days since I can’t eat meat, and this Friday was no exception. However, yesterday was special because my best friend spent time with me before my spring break ends Sunday.

Because my BFF is a blueberry fanatic, and we didn’t have enough bread to make french toast, we settled on whole-wheat blueberry waffles. I searched online for a good recipe and stumbled upon Todd’s Famous Blueberry Pancakes, which I  used to make waffles. I figured that if they’re famous, they must be good!

Regardless, I was a little nervous to make these from scratch. However, I must say that these were really easy to put together and quite good for my first attempt at homemade waffles. The first batch was kind of dense and doughy, but the second batch was light and crispy, just as waffles should be.

My BFF and I opted for a little butter and New York maple syrup to top the first waffles off. Then, we decided to try peanut butter, which was absolutely delicious.  However, we both realized afterward that cinnamon would have been perfect. It’s a good thing that there’s always a next time.

Makes about 6 waffles (or 12 pancakes)

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 tablespoon butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries, thawed

Instructions:

  1.  In a large bowl, sift together flour, salt, baking powder and sugar. In a small bowl, beat together egg and milk. Stir milk and egg into flour mixture. Mix in the butter and fold in the blueberries. Set aside for 1 hour.
  2. Heat a lightly oiled griddle or frying pan over medium high heat. Pour or scoop the batter onto the griddle. Brown on both sides and serve hot.

It’s fun to cook for my family instead of just for me. I can’t tell you how much I’m going to hate returning to school (a.k.a. cooking for one). I just keep telling myself that I’ll be home for the summer May 2. After enjoying the large kitchen, sleeping late and the beach, I realized that spring break is such a teaser.

Until next time,

Brianna

5 thoughts on “Whole-Wheat Blueberry Waffles

  1. Pingback: Whole-wheat pumpkin blueberry pancakes | Hungry Gator Gal

  2. Pingback: Breakfast of Champions | Hungry Gator Gal

  3. Pingback: “Pretty Sweet” Egg and Cheese Sandwich | Hungry Gator Gal

  4. Pingback: Weekend Breakfast – Strawberry Vanilla Pancakes « Hungry Gator Gal

Leave a Reply

