A love letter to pita bread and a recipe dedicated to your greatness

Dear pita bread,

Oh how I love your thin exterior and hollow insides. Despite your emptiness, you are not shallow, and I love filling your spaces with my love. And when I say love, I’m referring to multiple ingredients, which vary from fruits and vegetables to meats and proteins. You you never disappoint me and always have enough strength to hold whatever I stuff into you. In addition to your backbone, your versatility astounds me. From onion and white to whole-wheat and multigrain, your flavors keep me on my toes. What can I say? You are simply the best thing since sliced bread.

With love,

Brianna

Broccoli, Bean and Cheese Pita Pockets with Baby Carrots and Hummus

Serves One

Ingredients

  • 1  piece of pita bread (One piece from the 12 oz. package of Toufayan’s whole-wheat variety works well for this recipe)
  • 1/4 cup frozen baby broccoli florets
  • 1 ounce part-skim ricotta cheese
  • 1/8 to 1/4 cup  fresh diced tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup cannellini beans
  • 2 to 3 tablespoons of honey mustard dressing (I suggest Bolthouse Farms’ yogurt version)
  • 2 tablespoons guacamole (just as a topping; optional)
  • 10 large baby carrots
  • 3 tablespoons of hummus (my favorite is Sabra’s Roasted Red Pepper, but any flavor is delicious!)

Steps

  1. Cook broccoli in the microwave for about 2.5 minutes.
  2. Mix ricotta, dressing, beans, tomatoes and cooked broccoli in a small bowl until combined.
  3. Take pita and cut down the middle so that you have two pieces or “pockets.”
  4. Fill each pocket with the mixture. Heat for 30 seconds in the microwave if you wish.
  5. Serve with carrots and hummus on the side.
  6. Enjoy!

This recipe is healthy, simple and very satisfying even though it is meatless. Not to mention, it is inexpensive and fills me up for lunch or dinner on Fridays during Lent when I can’t eat meat.

Leave a Reply

