Lusting after beef

After a meatless Friday, I crave protein and red meat like it’s nobody’s business on Saturday. Let’s face it – an active college girl cannot subsist on beans and eggs alone!

What satisfies this meat craving? A plump and juicy burger!

However, this is no ordinary burger. This is a knife-and-fork fajita burger, and you may as well wrap it up in a tortilla like a Mexican present because it’s that delicious.

Unfortunately, I did not have tortillas on hand. Whole-wheat sandwich bread, which is slowly expiring on top of my fridge, begged for my attention, so I toasted a slice for this burger. To be honest, I just wanted the meat, and I didn’t care what grain this burger sat upon as I ate it. However, I did place the burger on a bed of cheese and guacamole. Then, I topped it off with salsa and diced white onions.

My little meat buddy also needed a veggie companion, so I ate it with my signature garbage bowl salad on the side.

Open-Faced Fajita Lime Burger

Serves 1

Ingredients

  • Dash of cumin
  • Dash of cinnamon
  • Dash of black pepper
  • Dash of salt
  • Dash of chili powder
  • 2 tablespoons lime juice
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 pound ground sirloin (the 90/10 variety)
  • A handful of diced white onions
  • 1 tablespoon of salsa (I used White Diamond’s Hot Tempered Salsa)
  • 2 tablespoons of guacamole (my favorite is Yucatan’s Authentic Guacamole)
  • 4 tablespoons of ricotta cheese (I only had ricotta, but I suggest using Monterey jack or cheddar instead)
  • 1 slice of whole-wheat bread (Again, I suggest using a small corn or flour tortilla instead; I didn’t have one on hand)

Steps

  1. Place meat in a small bowl. Add the spices one at a time, working each into the meat so that all the spices are evenly distributed. Then, add the Worcestershire sauce and lime juice. Let sit for a minute or two. Form the meat into a ball and flatten it a bit.
  2. Toast the bread while a small frying pan heats up to medium-high heat.
  3. Spray the pan with cooking spray and place the meat into the pan. Cook each side until it is brown (4 minutes each side; this will result in a medium-well burger)
  4. Chop up some onion slices and spread the guacamole on the toast. Put the cheese on after the guacamole.
  5. Place the burger on top of the bread and top with the diced onion pieces. Finish it off with the salsa.
  6. Enjoy!

Unfortunately, I have three exams this week. Two of them are Monday and one is Thursday, so you may not hear from me for a bit. Now I’m going to lock myself in my room until I learn all of my criminological theories and Spanish pronouns…

Until next time,

Brianna

Leave a Reply

