The Romance Heats Up

Things are getting hot in the kitchen…with my pitas.

I found myself experimenting again with a meatless main this Friday due to Lent, so I turned to pita bread, the love of my life, for a new sandwich concoction. I wanted something spicy this time, so I reached for some salsa to turn up the heat.

However, my fridge and freezer were incredibly empty because I needed to go grocery shopping, so I used the strangest assortment of ingredients to create this pita pocket sandwich for lunch on Friday.

I was pretty pleased with my use of neglected food items to create this meal. My pack rat of a father who buys too much food and eats things after the expiration dates would be so proud! This recipe goes to you Daddy…and your three cases of hummus, two buckets of prepared pulled pork and four salsas that are slowly rotting in the fridge.

By the way, “pack rat” is an official term, and Merriam-Webster defines it as “a person who collects or hoards especially unneeded items.”

Yes, you can hoard food. Enough said.

Black bean,veggie-packed salsa pita pockets with baby carrots and hummus

Serves 1

Ingredients

  • 1 piece of pita bread
  • 1/4 cup broccoli slaw (found in the refrigerated veggie section; usually next to the carrots and only costs $2 per bag)
  • 3 tablespoons part-skim ricotta cheese
  • 1/4 cup black beans
  • A small handful of diced green and red peppers
  • 3 tablespoons restaurant-style salsa (I used White Diamond’s Hot Tempered Salsa; warning – this is hot and spicy!)
  • A small handful of diced white onions
  • 2 tablespoons of guacamole (just as a topping; optional)
  • 10 baby carrots
  • 3 tablespoons of hummus (this time I had Sabra’s classic hummus in the fridge)

Steps

  1. Mix ricotta, salsa, black beans, peppers, onions and broccoli slaw in a small bowl until combined.
  2. Take pita and cut down the middle so that you have two pieces or “pockets.”
  3. Fill each pocket with the mixture. Heat for 30 seconds in the microwave if you wish.
  4. Serve with carrots and hummus on the side.
  5. Enjoy!

As  you can see, this spicy sandwich with a crunchy filling probably satisfies the “5-a-day” requirement in one sitting. Not to mention, it’s both filling and inexpensive. It’s a winner in my rapidly growing book of healthy recipes.

3 thoughts on “The Romance Heats Up

  1. Pingback: Must-have healthy food items | Hungry Gator Gal

  2. I personally Think that posting, “The Romance Heats Up Hungry
    Gator Gal” was indeed really good! Icouldn’t see eye to eye along with you more! Finally seems like I personallylocated a webpage worth reading. Thanks for the post, Arlene

Leave a Reply

