The Sophisticated Grilled Cheese Sandwich

This isn’t the grilled cheese of your childhood, but I promise that it’s better.

This melted favorite isn’t packed with Kraft Singles American cheese or suited to be tomato soup’s soul mate, but I promise that this ooey, gooey creation will find a warm place in both your heart and stomach.

Introducing the sophisticated grilled cheese, your new, cultured lunchtime companion!

Filled with protein, a tart surprise and a hint of sweetness, this melt will become a new standby among your lunchtime favorites. It’s cheap, easy to make and tastes like it would be featured on Panera Bread’s menu of artfully crafted sandwiches.

You might be confused as to how all of these ingredients taste when combined, but you’re just going to have to trust me on this one. I came up with the idea when I was nearly out of food one week last semester. Fortunately, that’s how new recipes are born.

The Sophisticated Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Ingredients

  • 1 small Granny Smith apple
  • 1 tablespoon of reduced-sugar strawberry jelly (I use Smucker’s Squeezable variety)
  • 1 teaspoon of honey mustard
  • A dash of cinnamon
  • 3 to 4 slices of Boar’s Head EverRoast deli chicken (Also tastes REALLY good with honey turkey or ham!)
  • 1 slice of white American cheese from your deli counter
  • A handful of raisins
  • 1/2 tablespoon of light butter (I use Land O’ Lakes’ Light Butter with Canola Oil)
  • 2 slices of whole-wheat sandwich bread

Steps

  1. Spread the butter on the outside layers of the two pieces of bread.
  2. Spread the honey mustard on the inside of one slice of bread. Next, add the cinnamon and raisins.
  3. Layer the chicken slices on top. Then, add the cheese and spread the jelly on the top.
  4. Cut thin and small slices of the apple and spread in an even layer on top of the chicken. Add the remaining piece of bread to the top of the sandwich.
  5. Cut the remaining portions of the apple into bite-sized pieces and put on your plate.
  6. Heat a small frying pan to medium heat. Cook the sandwich until both sides are golden brown. (About 3 minutes per side)
  7. Eat!

Of course, I ate the sandwich with baby carrots and hummus on the side. If you can’t tell from previous posts, carrots and hummus seem to go with all of my lunchtime meals. I also enjoyed the rest of the apple. All in all, a very colorful meal.

Just as an update, I did very well on both my criminology and Spanish exams Monday. However, I still have a law and society exam Thursday afternoon. Thank goodness that’s my easy class!

Only one more month until I’m back in my beloved home kitchen with an island and an endless assortment of utensils and gadgets. Not to mention, I’ll be returning to cooking for four instead just for one. Unfortunately, I know that summer won’t come soon enough 😦

Just in case you’re wondering, the internship for which I write this blog ends in April, but I have every intention to continue updating and expanding the blog. It has been a fun project for me, and now I can’t imagine life without sharing my recipes with you and the world. Plus, summer will give me oodles of time to experiment!

The fun has just begun…

Until next time,

Brianna

3 thoughts on “The Sophisticated Grilled Cheese Sandwich

  1. Pingback: “Pretty Sweet” Egg and Cheese Sandwich | Hungry Gator Gal

  2. Pingback: Healthy Monte Cristo Sandwich « Hungry Gator Gal

  3. Pingback: Spinach-Mozzarella Grilled Cheese « Hungry Gator Gal

Leave a Reply

