Overnight Oats – A Breakfast Revelation

Cold oatmeal? How can that taste good?

That’s exactly what I thought when I first stumbled upon overnight oats recipes on Peanut Butter Fingers, my favorite blog about healthy living and eating.

However, my skepticism quickly turned into downright enthusiasm with my first bite of this thick, creamy creation on Saturday morning.  Let’s just say that the heavens opened up and said, “You have found the love of your life, and you can now break out of your breakfast rut!”

Actually, there’s a reason why you’ve never read a breakfast recipe on this blog, and it’s not because I don’t eat in the morning. In fact, I love breakfast, and I make a point to eat something with protein, fiber and fat every morning. Not to mention, anyone who knows me well understands how delightful I am when I’m hungry.

I should send this to Nate hahaha. I’m always cranky when hungry.

Unfortunately, I’m too busy to whip up something extraordinary in the hour it takes me to get ready for school or work. I am NOT the person who wakes up early to make food. I don’t get enough sleep as it is. Therefore, I usually settle for a banana and a Kashi granola bar or cereal with almond milk, which is fine but very unexciting.

Now I have a new standby that can be made with an endless variety of flavor combinations. Chocolate, banana, vanilla, pumpkin, maple and brown sugar, strawberries, blueberries….

I have a feeling that this post is only the first in a long line of overnight oats recipes. Thanks Julie! 🙂

Chocolate, banana and cinnamon overnight oats

Ingredients

  • 4 ounces of yogurt, any flavor (I used Fiber One’s Vanilla, but I’m told that Greek yogurt makes it thicker)
  • A little less than 1/4 cup milk (I used Silk’s Unsweetened Vanilla almond milk)
  • 1 packet of Quaker’s lower sugar apples and cinnamon instant oatmeal
  • 1 dash of cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon of Hershey’s Natural Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • 1 medium-sized banana, cut in slices
  • OPTIONAL: 2 tablespoons chia seeds (I need to see if they have these at Publix. Some say that they are more nutritious than flax seeds and don’t impact the flavor.)

Steps

  1. Dump the oats and chia seeds into a medium-sized bowl. Add the cinnamon and cocoa powder and stir until evenly distributed.
  2. Add the milk and yogurt to the oats and stir until everything is combined.
  3. Put a lid on the bowl or cover it with plastic wrap. Place it in the fridge overnight (about 8 to 9 hours).
  4. Take the bowl out of the fridge and stir the mixture. Top with sliced bananas.
  5. Eat up the wholesome deliciousness!
2 thoughts on “Overnight Oats – A Breakfast Revelation

  1. Pingback: Whole-wheat pumpkin blueberry pancakes | Hungry Gator Gal

  2. Pingback: Must-have healthy food items | Hungry Gator Gal

Leave a Reply

