Homemade Fire-Roasted Salsa

First, let me just say that food processors are AWESOME. The person who invented this magical kitchen appliance should be praised by foodies and chefs across the globe.

So why are food processors so wonderful? Besides allowing mothers to sneak veggies into pasta sauce, food processors allow you to create delicious, inexpensive salsa in about 5 minutes. Just throw the ingredients in, flip the switch and voilà! You end up with thick, chunky salsa that is much fresher than the jarred varieties.

Because I was home for Easter, I decided to whip up some homemade salsa by using our Hamilton Beach food processor, which my dad fondly refers to as “the Emmie.” Yes, our food processor has a name.

My mantra is “the hotter the better,” so I knew I wanted this salsa to be spicy. After searching my Pinterest board of recipes, I stumbled upon fire-roasted salsa from The Yummy Life. To my surprise, we already had all the ingredients.

I’ve included a picture of the final product, but if you want a breakdown of the ingredients and steps, visit The Yummy Life.

I’m sorry that the picture isn’t the prettiest, but I was too busy dipping tortilla chips into the salsa to stop and take a professional-quality photo. This stuff is ADDICTING. It was so good that I was eating it by the spoonfuls without any dipping device. By the end of the day, I think it was the universal condiment.

Considering that I eat one entire tub of salsa per week, I think making homemade salsa could save a lot of money. I went to Publix today and bought pineapple, so I think the next batch is going to be on the sweet side. Pineapple-mango salsa anyone?

Questions

Do you like your salsa mild, medium or hot?

Have you ever tried making your own salsa? If you have, what is your favorite recipe? (Please send it to me at bkkolota@yahoo.com!)

14 thoughts on “Homemade Fire-Roasted Salsa

    • There’s cilantro in this recipe! I love black beans and corn also, so I think that will be another batch 🙂

  1. Pingback: New takes on old favorites | Hungry Gator Gal

  2. Pingback: Fruit Explosion Garbage Bowl Salad | Hungry Gator Gal

  3. Pingback: Crock-Pot Chicken Tacos and Spicy Cilantro Salsa | Hungry Gator Gal

  4. Pingback: Spicy English Muffin Minis with a Salsa Veggie Scramble | Hungry Gator Gal

  5. Pingback: Spicy Salsa Meatloaf | Hungry Gator Gal

  6. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW) #2 « Hungry Gator Gal

  7. Pingback: (Almost) Grownup Lunchbox Series – Super Simple Sour Cream Salsa Dressing « Hungry Gator Gal

  8. Pingback: WIAW # 8 Georgetown – Take Two « Hungry Gator Gal

  9. Pingback: (Almost) Grownup Lunchbox Series: Goodbye D.C. « Hungry Gator Gal

  10. Pingback: Top 12 Recipes of 2012 « Hungry Gator Gal

Leave a Reply

