New takes on old favorites

I woke up this morning and checked my email to find a wonderful surprise – both of my morning classes were canceled! So what did I decide to do with my free time? Blog, of course!

I could work on my final writing project for my public relations writing class. I should complete the study guide for advanced principles of criminal justice. However, blogging just sounded much more fun, so blog is what I will do 🙂

Last week I tried two new versions of two of my favorite recipes – homemade salsa and sweet potato fries. As for the salsa, I wanted something sweet and decided to try pineapple mango salsa. I followed the same recipe I used to make homemade fire-roasted salsa but added a can of crushed pineapple and some mango chunks.

Sweet and spicy!

As for the sweet potato fries, I wanted some heat this time. I followed the same recipe I used to make the crispy baked sweet potato fries and kept the pepper, but this time I substituted chili powder and cumin for the cinnamon.

This batch was even crispier than the first. Just look at the golden-brown color!

I hope your week is off to a good start.  Now I’m off to work on my real assignments before my Spanish grammar and composition class. Only two weeks until summer!

Questions:

  1. What’s a variation on one of your favorite recipes?
  2. What are your summer plans?
Leave a Reply

