Breakfast of Champions

No, I didn’t eat Wheaties, and I’m not an olympic athlete. However, this morning’s batch of über-chocolately overnight oats made me feel like I won the gold medal. Not to mention, the shuffle on my iPod decided to wake me up with Queen’s “We Are the Champions.”

Coincidence? I think not.

Needless to say, I felt like I could do anything after this powerhouse combo – run a few miles, tackle mounds of homework or even achieve world peace. Unfortunately, the only thing waiting for me was doing laundry, changing the sheets on my bed and taking my recycling downstairs. (By the way, Happy Earth Day!)

I would like to think that the wholesomeness of overnight oats is what boosted my energy level, but maybe I added a bit more honey to this batch than I usually do. Not to mention, I love chocolate in the morning, and I ate a banana with the oats.

Sugar high? Possibly.

Über-chocolately overnight oats

Serves One

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 4 ounces fat-free vanilla yogurt
  • 1/4 cup Almond Breeze unsweetened chocolate almond milk (regular almond milk or fat-free dairy milk also work)
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds (I found them at Publix, and they really thicken the mixture!)
  • 1 heaping tablespoon of unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tablespoon honey (or more…hehe)

Steps

  1. Mix oats, cocoa powder and chia seeds in a medium-sized bowl until everything is evenly distributed.
  2. Add the milk and stir.
  3. Then, add the yogurt and honey. Stir everything together. If it is too thick, add more milk.
  4. Cover the bowl, and let it sit in the refrigerator overnight (about 8 to 9 hours).
  5. If you want, add up to 1/4 cup milk to the mixture in the morning before eating.
  6. Enjoy!

Questions

  1. What breakfast makes you feel like a champion?
  2. What other foods do you turn to for a quick burst of energy?

Related Posts:

16 thoughts on “Breakfast of Champions

  1. I tried overnight oats and I couldn’t handle the cold. Maybe I could warm them up, but for now, I am in love with steel cut oats.I make a batch on Sunday and that makes enough for 4 big servings for breakfast. Yum! Fresh fruit in it and I am good to go!

  2. I can’t function without a large, warm, balanced breakfast. So, I usually have the same thing every day: scrambled egg whites and spinach with turkey sausage (or bacon) and a bagel thin with fat free cream cheese and a tiny bit of nutella. Sometimes I add reduced fat cheese to my egg whites.

    I know it sounds like a lot, but it’s under 400 calories!

    • I would make something like that every morning if I had the time! Not to mention, I’m really more of a “sweet” morning person than a “savory” one. Thannk for the suggestion though 🙂

      • You’re welcome! It’s funny how everyone is different. I could never ever start my day with sweet stuff. I can’t eat anything sweet on an empty stomach without getting a stomach ache D: I’m not too happy about this fact.

  3. Pingback: Homemade Yogurt Parfait Bowls | Hungry Gator Gal

  4. Pingback: It’s Been a While | Hungry Gator Gal

  5. Pingback: New Recipes from Washington, D.C. | Hungry Gator Gal

  6. Pingback: Thursday Thoughts – Pumpkin « Hungry Gator Gal

  7. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW) #2 « Hungry Gator Gal

  8. Pingback: WIAW #7: Peanut Butter Lover’s Month « Hungry Gator Gal

  9. Pingback: Protein-Packed Overnight Oats in a Jar (OOIAJ) « Hungry Gator Gal

  10. Pingback: Top 12 Recipes of 2012 « Hungry Gator Gal

Leave a Reply

