Honey Teriyaki Stir-Fry Chicken

I’m not going to lie to you – I didn’t feel like cooking anything today.

After thinking through two exams and finishing a final project Wednesday, I took a well-deserved mental health break on Thursday by sleeping in late, watching hours of my favorite TV shows on my laptop and tanning. In other words, the day consisted of no homework, no studying and no worries.

When I have lazy days like this, I usually turn to my stand-by recipes that take less than 15 minutes to prepare. I wasn’t in the mood for breakfast for dinner, so I whipped up a quick stir-fry in my handy dandy electric skillet instead.

Honey Teriyaki Stir-Fry Chicken

Serves One

Ingredients

  • 4 ounces boneless, skinless chicken breast
  • 2 dashes black pepper
  • 1 dash salt
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons low-sodium teriyaki sauce
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 3 tablespoons frozen peas
  • 1 handful frozen crinkle-cut carrots
  • 1 to 1 1/2 cups of fresh broccoli and cauliflower florets
  • 2 tablespoons honey-roasted slivered almonds

Steps

  1. Place all the veggies in a large glass bowl. Cover and cook in the microwave for 2.5 to 3 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, heat an electric skillet or medium-sized frying pan to medium-high heat.
  3. Cut the chicken into bite-sized pieces. Baste with olive oil and salt and pepper. Place in the skillet or pan and cook until all sides are golden-brown.
  4. Next, add the veggies, slivered almonds and teriyaki sauce to the skillet or pan and stir continuously until everything is golden-brown.
  5. When finished cooking, put everything back into the bowl and top with honey. Stir until the honey is evenly distributed.
  6. Enjoy!

Sweet, savory, crunchy and fast, this dinner is a no-brainer, which is good because I don’t think I have a brain left after studying so hard for finals. 🙂

Questions

  1. Do you like stir-frys?
  2. What is your favorite quick meal?
One thought on “Honey Teriyaki Stir-Fry Chicken

  1. Pingback: Top 12 Recipes of 2012 « Hungry Gator Gal

Leave a Reply

