Hummus-Crusted Chicken

“It tastes like KFC‘s chicken and mashed potatoes…but healthier.”

After hearing that comment from my brother, I’m definitely going to work this recipe into my regular rotation. It’s been waiting patiently on my Pinterest board for a while, but I finally made it for last week’s Sunday dinner with the family.

I almost forgot to mention that the recipe comes from Oprah’s website (a.k.a. your guide to EVERYTHING in life).

Hummus-Crusted Chicken with Steamed Broccoli and a Baked Sweet Potato

 

The sweet potato looks like it’s mashed, but it’s just baked and topped with cinnamon.

This isn’t the most enticing picture, but I assure you the chipotle hummus I spread on these chickadees wasn’t actually burnt and made for a smoky but moist main course. You could use any hummus, but I think the strong flavor added a zing to these baked chicken breasts.

When you dig into this meal, don’t forget to top the chicken and mash with the sauce lingering in the pan. It tastes like KFC gravy. 🙂

You can find the recipe here.

Questions

  1. Do you have any recipes that taste similar to a fast-food favorite?
  2. What is your favorite hummus flavor? (Mine is Sabra’s Roasted Red Pepper)

Related Posts

3 thoughts on “Hummus-Crusted Chicken

  1. I’m intrigued. I’m not a huge hummus fan; I can only tolerate a few bites before I get bored, but I think I might have to try this, haha.

  2. Pingback: Italian Style Hummus Crusted Chicken with Veggies « Hungry Gator Gal

Leave a Reply

