Jalapeño Crunch Mac and Cheese

Macaroni and cheese, meet your new best friend . . . Cape Cod’s Sweet and Spicy Jalapeño Potato Chips.

Yep, you heard me correctly. I sprinkled smashed potato chips on my creamy mac and cheese. What possessed me to do this? A very hungry 17-year-old boy who happens to be my brother did. That’s who.

He was crunching away on his after-school snack when I realized we had no bread crumbs for the dish. The naked but cheesy elbow pastas begged for a covering, so I grabbed the potato chip bag from his hand and began to crumble.

To make this ooey, gooey dish, follow Gina’s recipe found here, but substitute 1/4 to 1/2 cup smashed Cape Cod Sweet and Spicy Jalapeno Potato Chips for the whole-wheat bread crumbs. You can also add up to 2 cups of chopped, cooked broccoli florets.

I know potato chips aren’t the healthiest way to top America’s favorite comfort food, but at least I baked a skinny, lighter version of mac and cheese with broccoli. That makes it O.K. . . .Right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

