New Recipes from Washington, D.C.

Hello from Washington, D.C.!

I’ve only been in the capital for two weeks, but it already feels like home. Fortunately, my three roommates are funny, amazing and genuinely nice girls. I enjoy every minute I spend with them, and we’ve already made some great memories.

In addition to spending quality time with my fellow Washington Center interns, I’ve been working full-time interning for the federal government, taking a class on Monday nights, and participating in a civic engagement project on Capitol Hill.

In other words, life has been hectic!

As for food, I’ve been making my tried-and-true recipes due to lack of time for cooking. However, I’ve had a few moments to get creative with new, healthy dishes in the kitchen. Not to mention, I taught my  roomies how to make overnight oats and a few other Hungry Gator Gal recipes 🙂

Here’s a what I concocted for dinner last night on the fly…

Zesty Chicken Salad Lettuce Boats with Triscuit Minis

I don’t think dinner could have been any simpler to make. All you have to do is cut up some veggies and make the yogurt sauce while the chicken is boiling. Spoon the salad on the lettuce strips, top the boats with salsa, and you’re done.

These little lettuce wraps are perfect for a light lunch or dinner.

Serves One

Prep and Cook Time: 15 minutes

Level of Difficulty: Beyond Easy!

Ingredients:

  • 3 ounces plain fat-free Greek yogurt (I used Fage’s Total 0%)
  • 2 hearts of romaine lettuce pieces
  • 2 teaspoons honey mustard
  • 1 tablespoon ranch dressing (I used Bolthouse Farms’ classic ranch yogurt dressing)
  • Dash of pepper
  • Small handful of broccoli slaw
  • Small handful diced green bell peppers
  • Small handful diced red onions
  • 2 tablespoons guacamole
  • 2 tablespoons pico de gallo salsa

Steps:

  1. Place 4 oz. of chicken breast into a pot of boiling water. Cook for 10 minutes.
  2. While the chicken is cooking, stir yogurt, mustard, ranch, guacamole, pepper, and salsa together in a medium-sized bowl until evenly mixed.
  3. Cut veggies while the chicken is cooking. Add to the dressing mixture.
  4. When the chicken is done, shred it into small pieces and add to the dressing mixture.
  5. Stir until all ingredients are evenly distributed. Spoon salad on the lettuce beds and top with extra salsa, if desired.
  6. Enjoy!

Please forgive me for posting sporadically. I’m trying to fit blogging into my new D.C. schedule, and I’m hoping to keep you guys updated at least once a week.

In the meantime, try some of these recipes I’ve been making A LOT lately. They’re nothing new, but still delicious!

Homemade Yogurt Parfait Bowls

Breakfast of Champions

Baked Cinnamon Chicken and Sweet Potato with Peas and Carrots

Garbage Bowl Salad

Leave a Reply

