Thursday Thoughts – Pumpkin

This post should really be called Thursday “thought” and not “thoughts” because there’s only one thing on my mind now . . .

Pumpkin!

After a three-week manhunt across D.C., I finally found my beloved canned pumpkin at Target. Shame on you Harris Teeter’s, Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s for not having fall’s star food in time for me and my pumpkin recipes!

Needless to say, pumpkin has made its way into several of my meals this week. However, my favorite pumpkin recipe thus far was definitely Wednesday’s breakfast.

I promised I’d give you the recipe, so here it is:

Cinnamon Pumpkin Overnight Oats

(topped with a sliced banana and frozen blueberries)

Just look at those yummy orange-tinted oats. Don’t they just scream fall?

The recipe is equally delicious when topped with a big spoonful of nut butter. I have an almost-empty peanut butter jar, so I know what breakfast is going to make an appearance soon!

Serves One

Difficulty: Nonexistent

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup old-fashioned oats
  • Up to 1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk, plus more for the morning (or use regular milk)
  • 1/2 cup yogurt (I used fat-free vanilla, but feel free to use whatever flavor/type you enjoy the most.)
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1/4 to 1/3 cup 100% canned pumpkin (NOT pumpkin pie mix)
  • 1 teaspoon or more of cinnamon
  • One dash of nutmeg and allspice
  • 1 sliced banana (optional)
  • 1/4 cup frozen blueberries (optional)

Steps:

  1. Mix oats, spices and chia seeds in a bowl or plastic container with a lid.
  2. Add the milk, yogurt and pumpkin to the bowl and stir until everything is well-combined.
  3. Place the bowl or container in the fridge for five to nine hours (overnight, duh).
  4. Take the bowl out of the fridge in the morning and add more milk if the mixture is too thick for you. Stir, and top with blueberries, banana slices, nut butter or nothing at all.
  5. Enjoy!

Questions:

  1. Have you ever tried overnight oats?
  2. If you have, what is your favorite version? If not, which version would you like to try?

Related Posts:

Breakfast of Champions

Whole-wheat pumpkin blueberry pancakes

7 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts – Pumpkin

  1. I always see posts for all these fun flavored oatmeals, and it makes me wish I liked oatmeal, haha. It’s one of those foods that I’ve tried every way possible, multiple times, in hopes of forcing myself to like it. Nope :/ This sounds like it should be amazing, though!

  2. Pingback: WIAW #3 – A Long Day « Hungry Gator Gal

  3. Pingback: WIAW #4 – Something’s Not Right « Hungry Gator Gal

  4. Pingback: Presidential Muffins « Hungry Gator Gal

  5. Pingback: WIAW #7: Peanut Butter Lover’s Month « Hungry Gator Gal

  6. Pingback: Protein-Packed Overnight Oats in a Jar (OOIAJ) « Hungry Gator Gal

Leave a Reply

