WIAW #4 – Something’s Not Right

Do you ever have a day when you just feel “off”?

Something wasn’t right with me today, but I couldn’t put my finger on it. At times I wasn’t hungry but ate something because I should. The next minute I was hungry but not craving any food in particular.

Today’s eats were unusual, but what’s most shocking is that peanut butter sounded repulsing. This NEVER happens, and even the smell of it made me want to gag, which prompted me to start the day with this meal:

Breakfast – 7:45 a.m.

I wasn’t feeling any of my usual choices (overnight oats, a homemade yogurt parfait bowl or oatmeal), so I decided on a toasted whole-wheat English muffin. I topped one half with a tablespoon of Trader Joe’s Crunchy Almond Butter, a tablespoon of strawberry preserves, banana slices, raisins and a dash of cinnamon. I spread one tablespoon of Shedd’s Spread Country Crock Light Butter on the second half and enjoyed the rest of my banana on the side.

All in all, it was a simple but satisfying breakfast.

Lunch – 12:30 p.m.

I whipped up a new kind of lettuceless salad for lunch and made my own dressing. To keep it simple, I’m calling it the Basil Pesto Sprouts Salad, and I promise to post the recipe in the next few days!

Unfortunately, my appetite continued to act up. Although I enjoyed the new salad, I felt naseous halfway through the meal and ended up throwing the strawberries and a third of the salad in the trash. The mere thought of finishing the veggies disgusted me for some reason.

Afternoon Snack – 4:30 p.m.

(not pictured)

I was hungry due to my lack of a usual lunch, so one serving of Emerald’s Vanilla Roast almonds fueled my workout. Apparently I was craving almonds instead of peanut butter, seeing that they made an appearance twice today.

Dinner – 8:00 p.m.

My funky eating habits hit a high with dinner. I returned from the gym and didn’t really  feel hungry, which is strange because I’m always starving after a workout. All I wanted was something plain, so I put together this little snack plate, which included two hardboiled eggs, a handful of baby carrots, two tablespoons Sabra Classic hummus and one slice of 2% cheddar cheese. Plain old steamed broccoli topped with a pat of butter and some pepper rounded out my boring meal.

Chocolate Time – 9:00 p.m.

I knew I was feeling a tad bit better when my usual chocolate craving hit. Luckily, I snatched a box of the best chocolates in the world from Krause’s Homemade Candy while I was in New York last week.

I bought a box of 12 Saturday, and I’ve already mowed through half of them! They’re pretty, but that doesn’t stop me from eating them. 🙂

Seeing as half the chocolates remaining contained peanut butter, I decided on what I think was a dark chocolate candy filled with a vanilla bean cream.

I handpicked the candies, but sometimes I can’t remember which flavor is which. Doesn’t this one look like cookie dough?

Bedtime Snack – 10:45 p.m.

(not pictured)

Once again, nothing appealed to me, so I stuck with a bowl of Kashi Heart to Heart Honey Toasted Oat cereal with unsweetened vanilla almond milk and a banana.

Let’s hope I feel like myself tomorrow. In the meantime, check out some articles that peaked my interest this week.

Brianna

One thought on “WIAW #4 – Something’s Not Right

  1. Pingback: Basil Pesto Sprouts Salad « Hungry Gator Gal

Leave a Reply

