(Almost) Grownup Lunchbox – Hurricane Sandy Edition

I leave Florida for Washington, D.C., and a hurricane womps the Northeast? What are the chances of that happening?

Pretty high I guess. Thanks Hurricane Sandy (a.k.a. Frankenstorm, Snowicane, etc.)

Even though I’m not going to work tomorrow and possibly the next few days, the rest of you might not be so lucky. Don’t worry – I’m still going to give you some lunchtime inspiration with this installment of  the (Almost) Grownup Lunchbox Series 🙂

Jammin’ Apple Cheddar Sandwich

I enjoyed my sandwich with baby carrots, Sabra Classic hummus and one serving of roasted, salted almonds.

This sweet but tart sandwich is similar to my “Pretty Sweet” Egg and Cheese Sandwich. However, this time I stuffed one slice of Arnold Healthy Multigrain bread with one wedge of The Laughing Cow’s Cinnamon Cream Cheese spread; Granny Smith apple slices; one slice of 2% milk cheddar; one tablespoon strawberry preserves; a dash of cinnamon; and raisins.

Next up . . .

Tasty Turkey Avocado Sandwich

I topped one whole-wheat English muffin with two ounces oven-roasted deli turkey; 1/4 cup smashed avocado; three thick roma tomato slices; one slice 2% milk cheddar, deli mustard; a dash of black pepper; and a handful of alfalfa sprouts. I did my usual combo of baby carrots and hummus on the side and mixed it up with some raisins on the side.

Given the storm of the year, how many lunches do you think I’ll pack this week?

Questions:

  1. Is Hurricane Sandy going to affect your workweek?
  2. What preparation measures have you taken?

Related Posts:

Smashed Avocado, Black Bean and Onion Sandwich

Basil Pesto Sprouts Salad

Lunchbox Twofer

Leave a Reply

