Perfect Holiday Topping – Glazed Pecans

I’m sort of a bad person.

Do you remember those glazed pecans I made a few weeks ago. You know – the ones on top of my Baked Sweet Potato with Cinnamon Apples and Chicken Sausage?

If you do recall, which I hope you do, I promised to share the recipe for making these glazed pecans. Unfortunately life got in the way, which it seems to be doing often, and I completely forgot to write a post all about this easy-peasy topping that is perfect for sweet and savory holiday dishes and desserts.

Luckily, I remembered my promise last night, so I jumped out of bed and furiously scribbled “Post glazed pecans recipe!” in my agenda just before nodding off to sleep.

You probably think I’m a bit loony. Who leaps from bed to jot down a note about food?

Me, the food lover. That’s who.

Don’t judge – I’m trying to redeem myself here. 🙂

Glazed Pecans

SAM_2621

Makes about two cups

Ingredients:

  • One 8-oz. bag of chopped pecans
  • One egg white
  • One teaspoon cinnamon
  • One tablespoon brown sugar
  • One teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Cooking spray
  • One large cookie sheet
  • Two bowls – one large; one small

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Whisk the egg white with the vanilla in a large bowl until frothy.
  3. Mix the salt, cinnamon and brown sugar in a small bowl.
  4. Dump the bag of pecans in the egg white mixture. Use your hands to stir and evenly coat the pecans with the egg white.
  5. Add the brown sugar and cinnamon mixture to the pecans and stir again.
  6. Generously grease the cookie sheet with cooking spray. Spread the pecans in an even layer on the sheet and place on the middle rack of your oven.
  7. Allow the pecans to roast for about 25-30 minutes or until golden brown. Remove the sheet from the oven every 10 minutes and stir the pecans to make sure they are cooking evenly.
  8. Once the nuts are golden brown, remove the pan from the oven and allow the pecans to cool for at least 10 minutes before transferring them to an airtight container where they will keep for about two to three weeks.

SAM_2622

To be honest, I mostly ate these pecans straight from the container, and they disappeared in less than a week. However, I highly suggest using them to top a sweet potato, cupcakes, cakes, brownies, pies or anything else you can imagine.

What can I say? I love my monounsaturated fats. 😉

Questions:

  1. Have you ever roasted or glazed nuts before? If so, please send the recipe to me or leave a comment.
  2. What would you top with these glazed pecans?

Related HGG Posts:

Dreaming of Holiday Sweets

SAM_2680

Thanksgiving Leftover Recipes : Round Two

Baked Cinnamon Apple French Toast with Peanut Butter

 Other Related Articles:

3 thoughts on “Perfect Holiday Topping – Glazed Pecans

    • I’m looking forward to making the mini pies for my annual Chistmas party with my best friends. Thank you for sharing the recipe, which perfectly complements mine! 🙂

  1. Pingback: Double Chocolate Gingerbread Nut Bars « Hungry Gator Gal

Leave a Reply

