WIAW # 8 Georgetown – Take Two

This week’s What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW) would have been B-O-R-I-N-G without dinner and a special stop in Georgetown after work. I rarely go out to eat, but Tuesday’s trip celebrated the completion of my Washington Center portfolio and final exam for Criminal Law and Procedure.

SAM_2763

You know what the pink box means, right?

SAM_2758

Georgetown Cupcake!  (a.k.a. the BEST cupcakes in the entire world)

SAM_2759

Holiday flavors!

SAM_2762

Tried and true favorites!

More on dinner and the cupcakes in a minute. You didn’t think I’d skip breakfast and lunch, right? 🙂

Breakfast – 7:45 a.m

SAM_2747

– 1/2 cup Chobani Nonfat Vanilla Greek Yogurt mixed with 1/4 cup Friendship 1% Lowfat No Salt Added Cottage Cheese and one sliced banana that I caramelized in the microwave for 30 seconds with brown sugar and cinnamon.

– I also enjoyed one upside down Healthy Pumpkin Pie Spice muffin topped with 1/2 tablespoon Country Crock Light butter.

Lunch – 1:00 p.m.

SAM_2743

I chopped up a broccoli slaw salad with 1/2 cup chickpeas; diced onion; diced green pepper; chili powder; cumin; black pepper; and garlic powder. I topped the salad with a mixture of two heaping tablespoons Homemade Fire-Roasted Salsa and one tablespoon Bolthouse Farms’ Thousand Island yogurt dressing.

One serving Blue Diamond’s Oven Roasted Cinnamon Brown Sugar almonds and 1/8 cup raisins rounded out the meal.

Dinner at The Tombs – 6:00 p.m.

Photo courtesy of The Tombs website

This restaurant is a favorite among Georgetown University students. Although I didn’t order the signature Hoya Salad, which is essentially chicken nachos on a pizza crust, my meal didn’t disappoint.

SAM_2766

I ordered the Bulldog Burger, which is made with local grass fed beef, cherry wood smoked bacon, cheddar cheese, beer-braised caramelized red onions, and stone-ground mustard on a pretzel roll. I also worked some veggies into the meal with a side salad of spring mix lettuce, tomatoes, carrots, cucumbers and balsamic vinaigrette.

The beef melted in my mouth, and the bacon tasted both sweet and smoky.  Not to mention, I felt like I was eating a NYC pretzel due to the roll and mustard combo. All in all, this delicacy definitely earned a top spot on my “best burgers ever” list.

Bedtime Snack – 11:15 p.m.

SAM_2779

Right to left: White Chocolate Peppermint and Christmas Caramel cupcakes

SAM_2778

Top left to right: Chocolate Egg Nog and Vanilla Birthday Cake cupcakes

I ate the entire Christmas Caramel cupcake on my own, and my roommate kept the Vanilla Birthday Cake cupcake all to herself.  The sweet and salty goodness of the caramel cupcake basically blew my mind, which says a lot because everyone knows I’m normally a chocolate-all-the-way girl. 

We split the Chocolate Egg Nog and White Chocolate Peppermint cupcakes in half, which worked out perfectly considering how rich both cupcakes tasted.

I liked the White Chocolate Peppermint, but it was too much peppermint and not enough chocolate flavor for me. However, the Chocolate Egg Nog cupcake took me by surprise. I don’t really care for egg nog, but the nutmeg-infused cake and icing hit the spot! My roommate wasn’t wowed by this cupcake, so I ended up eating 3/4 of it on my own. 🙂

I hit my bed like a sack of potatoes at midnight with a very full belly, but the trip was definitely one of my favorite outings during my time in the district. My roommate and I plan to continue the end-of-semester celebration this weekend with a day trip to Old Town Alexandria. More details to come!

Questions:

  1. Have you ever visited Georgetown Cupcake? If so, what flavor did you try?
  2. Have you ever visited The Tombs? If, so what did you order?

WIAW posts from my favorite bloggers:

WIAW: Sweet Snackage – Sweet Tooth Sweet Life

WIAW #63: Meals By Number – My Food ‘N’ Fitness Diaries

3 thoughts on “WIAW # 8 Georgetown – Take Two

    • You’re welcome! I’ve been a HUGE fan of your blog for almost a year now and always look forward to reading your posts during “little breaks” in my day 🙂 You need to make a D.C. trip soon!

  1. Pingback: (Almost) Grownup Lunchbox Series: Goodbye D.C. « Hungry Gator Gal

Leave a Reply

