WIAW #9: Pretty Eggtastic

I apologize for posting a bit later than usual on this wonderful Wednesday before Christmas. My mom woke me up around 6 a.m. to see if I was interested in substitute teaching for the day, and I said yes. Thus, I didn’t have time to write and post my Tuesday eats for WIAW until now.

What I Ate Wednesday Healthy Holiday Recipes

Holiday graphics courtesy of Ashley at My Food ‘N’ Fitness Diaries

Since you waited this long, I won’t keep you hanging for another minute. I’m sure the suspense is killing you! 😉

First up . . .

Breakfast – 10 a.m.

SAM_2882

To start the day, I enjoyed a bowl of hot oatmeal made with Granny Smith apple chunks; cinnamon; 1/3 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk; 1/3 cup oats; one tablespoon creamy natural peanut butter; one egg white; and a sprinkle of brown sugar. To make, follow the instructions for my Peanut Butter and Banana Custard Oats but use one egg white instead of the whole egg.

Snack 11:30 a.m.

SAM_2887

I was still hungry even after my filling breakfast, so I ate one serving of Blue Diamond Honey Roasted almonds and a Ghirardelli Dark and Sea Salt Caramel square (not pictured). Delicious!

Lunch 3 p.m.

SAM_2872

I ate so much for lunch and snack that I wasn’t hungry again until the early afternoon. Even then, my stomach wasn’t really grumbling, so I opted for a small(ish) salad.

The bowl included one sunny side up egg seasoned with salt, pepper and tomato basil garlic seasoning; diced green peppers; white onion slices; romaine lettuce; broccoli slaw; zucchini quarters; baby carrots; fresh mozzarella cheese; and balsamic vinaigrette.

Despite being home and feeling like a lazy bum, this new, super-simple recipe has already been repeated. I made the sunny side up eggs for my little bro’s dinner Tuesday night on top of an Italian veggie stir fry.  This recipe’s sure to be a repeat offender.

Dinner 6:45 p.m.

SAM_2889

When dinner rolled around, I craved more eggs, so I whipped up a scrambled egg bowl made with two eggs; one egg white; one cup chopped broccoli florets; melted cheddar cheese; salt; pepper; and a drizzle of ketchup.

Snack 11 p.m.

SAM_2893

I ended the day with one medium banana that I sliced; sprinkled with brown sugar and cinnamon; microwaved for one minute; and topped with almond milk, granola and a spoonful of Nutella.

All in all, it was pretty eggtastic day. 🙂

Questions:

  1. What did you eat today?
  2. Have you ever cooked sunny side up eggs?

Related HGG Recipes:

WIAW #7: Peanut Butter Lover’s Month

Spicy English Muffin Minis with a Salsa Veggie Scramble

Peanut Butter and Chocolate Oatmeal with Granny Smith Apple Chunks

Other Interesting Articles:

2 thoughts on “WIAW #9: Pretty Eggtastic

  1. Pingback: Garlic Pepper Egg Scramble « needlesspounds

  2. Pingback: Top 12 Recipes of 2012 « Hungry Gator Gal

Leave a Reply

